When your eyes are shut as the sun goes down,
when your head is laid and you doff your crown-
when all is said and all is done,
I will stand by you, I will keep my watch.

When your soft skins rise as you breathe to sleep,
when the neighbors here gawk at you snore,
when all don’t think of you anymore,
I will watch you sleep, I will keep my watch.

When your friends turn foes as they always do,
when the closest to you just want to use you-
when talks and noise overshadows you,
I will listen to you, I will keep my watch.

When you count those ones that have stood by you,
and their numbers are very close to nil,
when you look far back and are grateful too;
when all is said and all is done,
I will stand by you, I will keep my watch.

 

Leave a Reply

